Just another WordPress.com site

T’was the night before…

 

As many of you know honey and I are packing the house preparing to move this season…after a decade in the same place it’s astounding how much STUFF gets squirreled away! While filling boxes, it sounded like this…

Dumping a large pile of my clothes in the goodwill heap, honey says.
“WHY are you keeping all these size thirty-two’s?”
Looking up from sorting though a mountain of paperbacks, I reply.
“I MIGHT wear ’em again…someday.”
Smiling, she pats my head, rolling her eyes.
“Okay Elvis…just say’n while your working that direction, maybe someone else could get some use out’a them.”
Annoyed by the logic, (and the truth!) I huff.
“Well don’t give them ALL away! I’m not THAT far away!” (BIG LIE!)
My honey never shirks from throwing the BS flag…in fact she usually can snap ya with one rattle-snake quick!
“If I recall correctly, you wore a thirty-four when we married.” she continues grinning.
“How long before that since you’ve worn these?” she says shaking them.
Mumbling, I avert my gaze.
“Ummm…a little while….maybe four, or five years?”
The dog looks from me to my wife and grins. Smartass. Honey pats his head.
“Soooo….I think your poopy says thats about eighteen…nineteen years?”
Scowling at the traitorous critter, I growl.
“Fuzz face can’t count!” (Can he?) Rolling his eyes, the dog chuffs and grins even larger. Damn dog.
“OK! So I’ve been dragging them around a while!” I get up and pull a polka dotted dress from the “give” pile. Holding it up, I exclaim grumpily.
“THIS is about that old!”
Coming over to hold it up to her, my lovely wife says.
“Huh! You’re right…it’s why I’m giving it away. But it still fits.”
Smart-alecky college girls…
The stupid animal yawns. Guess he’s bored with watching me lose. Kissing my nose, honey goes back to shifting thru items and tagging boxes with the efficiency of an IRS auditor. It’s been a weird Christmas…packing instead of unwrapping…but the coming year looks bright. Fuzz head is looking into a empty box laying on its side…if he crawls in there; I may get an early present! :o) Merry Christmas all…may the new year bring peace and prosperity. On a side note, Season one is half over on my series “Amazing Grace” and my special, “A Season Remembered” is doing well on: bigworldnetwork.com
If you get the chance, check ’em out…I guarantee a smile and maybe a tear or two.
Be blessed my friends.
                                                 Jim

Leave a comment